Get a Dose of Calm

Hello from Local Boys - actionable advice for achievers.

HOT LITTLE PERMISSION SLIP

What if you gave yourself permission to pursue that wild side hustle, Skrillex-style DJ dream, or the bad bi*ch raise you know you deserve?

— Sam & Claire

P.S. Sam is leading a series of live, guided meditations straight from zoom several times per week to help you get a "dose of calm" in your day. If you're tired of feeling stressed, stuck, or overwhelmed...this is your sign do something about it. 

This week's rundown:

  • 🪐 Transforming Stress into Space

  • 🏆 Prompts for Finding Calm

  • 🍭 What We're Excited About

TRANSFORMING STRESS INTO SPACE

Our minds are big beautiful machines but more often than not, they get in the way. Ideas bounce around like feral ping pong balls and before we know it we've lost the idea that could have changed our career trajectory, the words that could make a difference, or the seed of an impending microinfluencer account that could subsidize our dog's wardrobe. 

One thing you may or may not know is that I lead group meditations in my local community. Every other week some random strangers show up at the art gallery I partner with, roll out their yoga mats, and bravely trust me to guide them into a deeper state.

I watch these people walk through the door after their day, frazzled, and likely irked by Southern California traffic. The day's anxieties are literally etched into their brow. You can almost feel the scattered buzz emanating from their heads.

Then I guide them away from their minds and into their bodies. Sometimes deep into their souls where they lose touch with physical reality altogether. But the most magical, unreal, amazing moment for me is that after that one hour is complete, I see the same thing in everyone's eyes...

Clarity. Calm. Connection.

Each attendee speaks with intention. They left whatever was hanging over their heads on the mat. They consciously walk with a clear, calm state of being and stand tall, in a renewed sense of self.

That's what space does. 

So where can you create space for yourself?

Is it showing up at your local art gallery for a new meditation class? Is it dedicating a half-hour after dinner to play a board game with your partner and/or kids? Is it laying horizontal on the wood floor of your office pretending you're just another plank, imagining thoughts drain from your mind and into the grain of the wood beneath you? 

Whatever it is, I hope you find a dose of calm there, and experience the magic of presence. 

🪐 PROMPTS FOR SPACE 🪐

  1. What sensations am I feeling in my face right now? My head? My body?

  2. Can I feel the draft of my breath underneath my nose? Is there a temperature to it? A texture?

  3. Can I dedicate 2 full minutes to these questions today instead of just reading them? ;)

WHAT WE'RE EXCITED ABOUT

Source: Spotify

1️⃣ Work Jams: This Mellow Playlist has us feeling the cosmos. 

3️⃣ Space For You: If you want the calm, clear, connection vibes that we talked about in our main story today, then smash gently tap the button below. 

LET THIS SINK IN

"Not everything that is faced can be changed, but nothing can be changed until it is faced.” 

- James Baldwin

That's a wrap. See ya next week! 

🖤 Your Local Boys

WANT TO SPONSOR US?

Click here to let us know who you are. We'll get back to you within 24 hours.